Month: April 2013

  • 1/3 gone

    The year is 120 days old.  1/3 gone.  For some reason this depresses me.  I remember when as a child time seemed to move at a snail’s pace.  Now it flys by like days don’t even exist.

    I read a good blog today about the most not-talked about sin in America.  Gluttony.  It wasn’t talking about food, it was talking about not being satisfied with what we have in all areas of life. 

    I also saw a really disturbing TV ad for K-mart that had two guys in a swimming pool that were so pale and white they looked like…… my Irish son-in-law.  Scary that people can be so pale.

  • Favorites

    These are my favorite little girls ever.  I love this picture.

  • New Trend?

    I hope not.

    I actually got up and fixed my husband breakfast today.  First time in years. YEARS!  It helps that my husband is getting up at six now instead of four fifteen.  Makes breakfast a bit more doable in my book.  I’m thinking it was nice but not something I want to have become a habit, or expectation.  ;)   He did appreciate it but I’m thinking my hips are not going to be appreciating the blueberry muffins when I head out walking later on.

    I might make it an occasional thing but tomorrow he can go back to his Starbucks run. 

    In other news.  I really really hate dealing with fire ant bites.  They are at the itchy swelling stage and are driving me crazy!

  • Pride

    Lord save me from it.

  • Spring?

    It’s funny, I was looking at a site and a blurb for another article caught my eye.  A fluff piece about how to adapt your wardrobe for spring, those days that start out cold, end up warm etc.

    They are talking about sweaters, the types of pants to wear etc.

    And I am thinking it’s time to bring out the shorts and tank tops again.  Our sweater and pants season (a long three months long) is about over.  In fact all the pregnant women in the family abandoned the long pants weeks ago.  I think they are a little late on their advice.

     

     

    Wait… is that AmeliaJake getting ready to mail me a snow bomb?

  • Civic Duty

    Got called for jury duty.  In 12 years here my husband has been called twice.  In my 12 years here I have been called 8 times.  Seems my name pops up on a regular basis.  Of course we have three courts to deal with (or maybe more).  County, District, and Federal.  I’ve been called for all three.  I have been selected for panels but never seated on a jury.  That’s fine with me.  I just never want to get seated on a child abuse or child murder case.  I honestly don’t think I could view evidence.  I’d be thinking the whole time… string ‘em up.   But it’s always a good thing to do your duty so I show up along with the other 600+ people that day.  (They call an average of 750 people 5 days a week here in Houston for jury duty…. it’s a huge process)

     

    Which reminded me of this moving story of a man serving that I read on Facebook.  Moving and well worth sharing.

     

    As a guitarist, I play many gigs. Recently I was asked by a funeral director to play at a graveside service for a homeless man. He had no family or friends, so the service was to be at a pauper’s cemetery in the back country.

    As I was not familiar with the backwoods, I got lost. I finally arrived an hour late and saw the funeral guy had evidently gone and the hearse was nowhere in sight. There were only the diggers and crew left and they were eating lunch. I felt badly and apologized to the men for being late. I went to the side of the grave and looked down and the vault lid was already in place. I didn’t know what else to do, so I started to play.

    The workers put down their lunches and began to gather around. I played out my heart and soul for this man with no family and friends. I played like I’ve never played before for this homeless man. And as I played ‘Amazing Grace,’ the workers began to weep. They wept, I wept, we all wept together.

    When I finished I packed up my guitar and started for my car. Though my head hung low, my heart was full. As I opened the door to my car, I heard one of the workers say, “I never seen nothin’ like that before and I’ve been putting in septic tanks for twenty years.” Apparently, I’m still lost…

    Ken is in New Mexico visiting his dad. The girls, their husbands and kids will be in Galveston. Jill is in Oklahoma with her kids so it is just Aaron and I here on our own. He’s talking doing some work on his house. I need to transplant blueberry bushes if it stops raining. I think it will be a very quiet weekend.

  • Run for the Rose

     

     

     

    Our team made quite the statement in our team t-shirts!

    Hannah and Chris and Fergal walking the course.

    My friend Laura showing her spirit around 2.5 miles!  Go Laura Go!

    The Three 5  year olds.  The kids all participated in the family fun run, which was 1K.  They got to run around the outside of the Astrodome.  A piece of history passing by and they didn’t even know it.

    Obama was there… drones in the sky…. 

    It was a remote control camera that some guy was running for a news station.  It looked like a flying spider.

    Just to give you an idea of how tough this race was…..  lol, it looks like it was really short but was actually a 5K.  3.1 miles.

    Our team raised over $500 for brain cancer research.  Thank you everyone who ran, participated, and contributed!


    Earlier this month:

    Otto’s 7th birthday!

    Cousins enjoying each other…. always.


     

     

     

     

  • My apologies

    but I do not have a partner.

    I have a husband.

     

  • My son

    Aaron had heart surgery today.  He had Wolff-Parkinson-White Syndrome.  It caused his heart to do extra beats or something, it was electrical in nature.  They had to go in and “zap” his heart and basically burn the heart muscle in a couple of places to get it to work properly.  It went well and he is okay now.  It is scary to have someone you love so much have heart surgery.  No matter how “minor” the doctor says the surgery is it is still major to me. The condition was not causing him any problems right now but the doctor said his was serious enough that it would definitely cause some problems when he was around 50 or so.  Better to take care of it now rather than later.

    I watched the kids today and last night.  I had planned on taking them to Jill’s friend’s house today but Otto got very worried about his dad when he found out he was not coming home today.  I just couldn’t send him off to another house when he was so worried.  I canceled my choir practice and decided to keep them again tonight.  Tomorrow I will take them to Bible study and they will head home in the afternoon or stay with Hannah while I go to my dentist appointment.  It is no problem.  Love these kiddos and I think it is better for Otto to stay with grandma than with a non-family family tonight.  He is such a little worry-wart.