February 6, 2013

  • Dinosaurs

    While I understand the draw and ease of using a Kindle or a Nook to read a book I sigh with sadness at the decline of the traditional book.  I love holding a book in my hands, turning the pages, smelling the ink, feeling the words run past my eyes.  It just isn't the same feeling with a digital book.  I saw today that Barnes and Noble, the last large book seller in the nation is struggling.  While I don't frequent their establishment, choosing instead to go to a smaller bookstore that is more intimate and friendly, it is very sad to think it may go the way of the dinosaurs. 

Comments (3)

  • Lake Jackson has lost two independent book stores in the last few years.  One was called "Book Ends" and was the most delightful place to shop.  New and used books - they had a corner with chairs and a coffee pot, as well as two resident kitties:  Ophelia and Princess Buttercup.  I loved that store.  

    Most recently, the half price bookstore decided to close.  We would go in there from time to time to either trade in or buy.  I spoke with the owner when I saw the "Closing" signs on the door -- she pointed to the e-reader movement as her reason for closing.  She was not bitter (I think she is of an age that her business was more of a hobby than a livelihood), but a bit sad.
    I debated with a techno geek on a WordPress blog about the demise of REAL books.  He thinks they will be gone in five years.  I hope with all my heart that he is wrong.  I love the copy of Green Eggs and Ham that my parents gave me in 1967, and my 40th anniversary edition of Gone With the Wind (with a foreword by James Michener) and my paperback copies of The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and Return of the King -- all of which I've had since high school.  Not to mention all the other books that have joined them in between.
    AJ gave me a Kindle Fire for Christmas year before this last and I do enjoy it.  I use it to check Facebook, play Words With Friends and Angry Birds.  I occasionally read a book on it.  But there is a stack of books on my kitchen counter that need to be returned to the library, and it will be replaced by other paper and hardbound books . . .

  • @Laura Swan Jinkins@facebook - Gahh! Five years, I hope that is wrong also. I wonder though. Recently I tried to buy a new copy of a used children's book I found at the local library book sale. The new copy cost $182. Maybe this is an indicator that printing is declining?

  • @OnTheHoof - You know that ABC book of mine that has all the great pictures.... A is for acrobatic alligators in airplanes... etc?  It was done by Hilary Knight of the Eloise books fame.  I have tried to find a new copy of it.  Nope, not in print.  Then I found a used copy.  It is considered a huge collectors item.... $350 for a copy in poor condition.  Now I can't decide if I should continue to let my grandkids enjoy it.  I decided I would as they love it as much as I did when mom and dad gave it to me back in the 60s.  I just don't let anyone near it with crayons.  Although Hannah did a job on it with a crayon about 20 years ago.  What's a book for but to be enjoyed though!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment