January 26, 2013

  • Race Day

    Tomorrow, Sunday the 27th, is race day.  I will be silly enough to be running a half-marathon.  13.1 miles.  The weather says it will be hot.  60 degrees or warmer so I'm sure it will be slow going for me.  My goal is to average a 13.5 minute mile which will put me in under 3 hours.  I'm not exactly as prepared as i was for last year's race and mentally I'm REALLY not prepared.  I will be running it solo this year so I'm not sure how that will work out.  I have my little ipod to keep my company loaded with music and a short 2 hour book in case I get tired of music.  I like running to audio books, they keep me thinking.

    My "support team" has staked out a few spots where he can give me encouragement along the route and replenish my water bottles if need be.  The race has water stations every 1 1/2 miles so water isn't an issue but I like MY water, not nasty city water.  lol  Spoiled I know. 

    The big event of the day really though is that my son will be running in the full marathon at the same time I am doing the half.  We do the same course only he will do two rounds of it while I will do one.  He is hoping to finish the marathon in under four hours.  I just hope I beat him across the finish line.  lol

    He has a double digit.... number 19.  I don't know if that's because of his early registration or because of our speed grouping.  Either way 19 looks impressive.  1226 not so much.  :)

    I'll let you know if I meet my goal and survive the whole ordeal.  After the race we head home then we go to the theater to see Camelot.  I better take a nap before or I might not stay awake through the singing and dancing.  :)

     

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment