August 12, 2013

  • A day of new beginnings

     

    Today was Daria's first day of first grade. She loves school and loved her first day of first grade.  She put on her traditional white bow for her hair (a Russian tradition only I need to get her a BIGGER bow.... hers is much too small to do a Russian justice), paid attention to mama, and completed all her work.  I understand she did great.  Little brother on the other hand was a little terror with mom distracted and Katrina didn't want to sleep so mom said it was a successful day but a stressful day all the same.  Ah, that is life isn't it.

    Today also was the birth day of Margaret Sue Collins.  Grandbaby #9.  She joins her big brother Fergal and is a real little beauty.  8 lbs. 9 oz and a petite 19 inches long she had some rolls of fat on her already....  She was a noisy one too, complained long and loud about having to make an appearance. 

    I have to admit I was touched to have her share my middle name.  Hannah said they chose Margaret in honor of my mom.  Even though Hannah never met my mom she said the memories I share of her made her want to have her daughter share her name.  And Sue is my middle name and Hannah said she wanted her daughter to have something from me.  So Margaret Sue it is.... I think it might evolve to Maggie Sue ....  possibly.  :)   Fergal wasn't quite sure what to think of her.  He was more interested in the raisins that mom had.  Food trumps sisters any day.

Comments (2)

  • So, this morning I wondered to myself if Pottermom had any news . . .Well, I guess so! Daria starting school AND a new grandchild.  Oh, I read in the paper a couple of days ago that an Amish couple had 113 grandchildren . . .

  • Chubby babies are the best.  We have a new great-grand-baby who is 20 1/2 " long, and weighed 9lbs 8 oz.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *