May 25, 2013

  • Traveling

    Have I mentioned that I hate traveling?

    I don't mind driving myself where I can set the pace and go my own speed.  Stopping when I want to, taking pictures of what I want to.  Browsing through local shops and sitting at a small local cafe listening to the farmers talk crops.  I hate traveling where we have to be somewhere at a certain time, we rush to get to the airport to just sit and wait, we wait through airline delays, we travel not for pleasure but for "have-to" reasons.

    Yes, I hate that type of travel.

    This past week we flew up to Albuquerque and then drove from there to Durango, CO.  One night there, Ken had meetings and then we attended the grand opening of the Mesa Verde visitor's center.  It was an interesting event, a government "thing", yet not a govt. thing.  The tribal administrator of the Zia pueblo gave the blessings and wow, it was long.  I just stand respectful through these things but I don't "participate" as many people do.  He is not praying to God, he's praying to his god, and we've had several discussion about just who his god is, and it's not Jesus Christ so I have no problem not participating yet many people thought it odd that I would stand and not be in a position of prayer.  Okay folks, that would be like asking an atheist to fold their hands and close their eyes and join in a prayer a Christian offers.  Not something I would do.  Respectful of the folks, okay, participate?  No.  But I don't think I've ever heard a Christian give such a long blessings, it even had the govt. officials shifting from foot to foot.

    It was ironic that this blessing was allowed to be offered to a god, but a prayer to the Christian God would not be allowed.  Oh yes, the political correctness of the world.

    The big disappointment of the event was that the former Sec. of the Interior was supposed to be there and he didn't show up.  I was looking forward to telling him that not only was his former boss an idiot but he wasn't such a bright light himself.  (my CO family would probably understand that one)

    The next day it was drive back to Albuquerque, wait at the airport, fly home.

    Home today.

    And tomorrow we start off again.  But this time to vacation.  Diving in Cozumel.

    My first time diving in the ocean.

    I am nervous.

     

Comments (2)

  • I admire you for learning to scuba dive; I think I would panic in a deep bathtub.  Rose, of course, is a natural . . .  Let me know if  you see her face in her custom-made mask when  you dive; she tells me she has booked a charter in that area. You might warn Ken - she does looks a bit odd in her mask and insists on keeping her red-striped stockings on, dontcha know?

  • Greetings from Port Aransas!  I understand the whole traveling thing -- I like to be the captain of my own ship, so to speak.  We are here with friends of my husband's -- they have a plan:  spend plenty of time on the beach, get the surfboards wet, soak up as much sun as possible.  Me?  So grateful that the teen girl and I have similar tastes.  We dropped the husband off with the friends this morning and then drove down to Corpus Christi to visit her first grade teacher, who is expecting her first child in 13 days.  Such a lovely visit -- we are really excited for her and her husband, as they've been trying to have a baby for 8 years now.  Three miscarriages and finally, they will have the baby that their hearts have been longing for, for so long.  We're now back in the hotel room taking a nice little rest before dinner.  I expect we'll get a text message in a bit telling us where to meet for dinner.  

    I'm glad my guy is having fun.  I am also glad that he understands my idea of fun is different.  :D  
    I think you are going to have a WONDERFUL time on your next trip.  Don't be nervous.  You will be fine and see the most amazing things that God has created!  I can't wait to hear all about it.  

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment