February 19, 2013

  • Monkeys wrenching my life

    monkey wrench

    noun
    an adjustable wrench with large jaws that has its adjusting screw contained in the handle.

    verb ( monkeywrench) [ trans. ] informal
    sabotage (something), esp. as a form of protest : [as n. ] ( monkeywrenching) the five defendants who received jail sentences for monkeywrenching.

    PHRASES
    a monkey wrench in the works (or schedule, plan, etc.) a person or thing that prevents the successful implementation of a plan : even he couldn't throw a monkey wrench into the works | a cancellation can throw a real monkey wrench into the schedule.

     


     

     

    Ever had one of those days where you thought you had it all together and then someone comes along and throws a monkey-wrench right into the middle of your life?

    That's me today.

    I was all ready for our trip this weekend.  A company business trip that has always been a quiet event.  Four men and usually a couple of wives, sometimes no wives.  Some years I have gone with my husband and some years I have not.  It has always been a time when I can hide in my room, or find a coffee house to sit in and read.  I was planning on taking my camera and playing with it and had agreed to go skiing one day with my husband.  I was looking forward to the time, and possibly even the cold weather.  Today, just two days before departure, I am told that it has now become a "party" trip.  Party being my descriptive word.  Due to recent management changes it isn't just the operations team that is going, it is all the other department heads too and all their wives.  Gone is my quiet solitude.  Gone is my private retreat.  Gone is my personal space.

    Oh have faith some of you say, it can't be all bad.

    Oh yes it can.

    I am not cut out to be an executives wife.  I am a hermit by nature.